Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Moderat: The Best Collaboration for 2009

Finally. The collaborative project from two of the best in the IDM and glitch world has been announced with a scheduled release this year. Legends in the business, German artists Apparat and Modeselektor are titling the project "Moderat" (a useful play on words). This week it was leaked and let me explain to you in as very little words as possible how amazing it is, are you ready?: Fucking Amazing (and I'm capitalizing those words for a reason). The reason why these two have perfected their dual sound so flawlessly is because neither is a stranger to the other's work. They've done work together before and Modeselektor is involved with Apparat's record label BPitch Control.

Safe assumption with all of Modeselektor's work, this collaborative effort retains the same opinions of self confidence, him saying the sound is

"Happy metal, hard rap, country-ambient, Russian crunk. We don’t like it if people tag us as being a certain style or school or scene or whatever. We don’t really care about all that."

MSTRKRFT's work on Fist of God (which is discussed in an earlier post) is still taking the cake so far, but Moderat is definitelly coming in a close second, and it may sway my opinion for number one as I continue listening to it. The fact that these veterans of pre-conceptualized sound within the genre can produce something so refreshing, and so creatively new makes me have higher hopes from other artists. Yet, if Apparat and Modeselektor can do it, it definitely doesn't mean you can; these guys are flawless professionals.

Track List:
01. A New Error
02. Rusty Nails
03. Seamonkey
04. Slow Match Feat. Paul St. Hilaire
05. 3 Minutes Of
06. Nasty Silence
07. Sick With It feat. Dellé
08. Porc # 1
09. Porc # 2
10. No. 22
11. Out Of Sight

No comments: